Stacey Abrams Has Been Nominated For The Nobel Peace Prize

Stacey Abrams

Stacey Abrams, the failed Georgia gubernatorial candidate who has since become a voting rights activist, has just been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Abrams Nominated For Nobel Peace Prize

Abrams’ nomination was revealed on Monday by Lars Haltbrekken, a Socialist Party member of Norway’s parliament, according to Reuters.

“Abrams’ work follows in Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s footsteps in the fight for equality before the law and for civil rights,” Haltbrekken said.

King won the coveted award back in 1964, four years before his assassination.

“Abrams’ efforts to complete King’s work are crucial if the United States of America shall succeed in its effort to create fraternity between all its peoples and a peaceful and just society,” Haltbrekken added.

Related: Stacey Abrams Buys Ad Time After Georgia Election – Possibly Launching Campaign

Others Who Have Been Nominated

Thousands of people from all over the world are nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize each year, and the winner is generally announced in October. Other candidates this year include the Black Lives Matter movement, the World Health Organization and climate campaigner Greta Thunberg.

Former White House senior advisor Jared Kushner, the son-in-law of former President Donald Trump, was nominated as well on Sunday for his role in “negotiating four normalization deals between Israel and Arab nations known as the ‘Abraham Accords.””

“The Nobel Peace Prize is not for popularity,” Alan Dershowitz, who nominated Kushner, wrote in a letter to the Nobel Peace Prize committee. “Nor is it an assessment of what the international community may think of those who helped bring about peace. It is an award for fulfilling the daunting criteria set out by Alfred Nobel in his will.”

Related: Jared Kushner Nominated For Nobel Peace Prize By Alan Dershowitz For His Work On Israel Peace Efforts

Here’s How These Nominations Work

The Nobel website explains how nominations of this kind are handled:

“These nominations will be submitted by members of national assemblies, governments, and international courts of law; university chancellors, professors of social science, history, philosophy, law and theology; leaders of peace research institutes and institutes of foreign affairs; previous Nobel Peace Prize Laureates; board members of organizations that have received the Nobel Peace Prize; present and past members of the Norwegian Nobel Committee; and former advisers of the Norwegian Nobel Institute.”

It remains to be seen who will win the Nobel Peace Prize this year.

This piece was written by James Samson on February 2, 2021. It originally appeared in LifeZette and is used by permission.

Read more at LifeZette:
Trump Senate Trial Lawyer May Have Other Motives
Tulsi Gabbard Torches Pelosi For Describing GOP As ‘Enemy Within The House’ – ‘Like Throwing A Match Into A Tinderbox’
Melania Trump Reveals Her Post-White House Plans – She’s Going To Maintain ‘Be Best’

Mentioned in this article::